

LSU Faculty Senate Meeting

3:00 pm, January 29, 2025 Dalton Woods Auditorium Energy, Coast and Environment Building

Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance: P=Present
Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) A=Absent

Name	Position	College	Attendance	
Daniel Tirone	President	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	
Inessa Bazayev	Past President	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р	
Parampreet Singh	Vice President	Science	Р	
Michelle Osborn	Secretary	Veterinary Medicine	Р	
Kyla Kazuschyk	Member-at-Large	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р	
Kenneth Lopata	Member-at-Large	Science	Р	
Carmela Mattza	Member-at-Large	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	

Senators

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Achyut Adhikari	Agriculture	A	Giulio Mariotti	Coast and Environment	Р
Kayanush Aryana	Agriculture	P	Sarah Mathews	Science	P
Maria Bampasidou	Agriculture	Р	Carmela Mattza	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
John Bardes	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Supratik Mukhopadhyay	Coast and Environment	Р
Gerald Baumgartner	Engineering	Р	Marcia Newcomer	Science	A
Brett Boutwell	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р	Wayne Newhauser	Science	A
Christine Bruening	Art and Design	Р	Michelle Osborn	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Summer Chandler	Law Center	Р	Rosemary Peters-Hill	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Yan Chen	Agriculture	Р	Patricia Queiroz- Williams	Veterinary Medicine	A
Rebecca Christofferson	Veterinary Medicine	A	Leonard Ray	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
Charles Delzell	Science	Р	Michael Russo	LSU Libraries	Р
Ray Diamond	Law Center	P	Subramaniam Sathivel	Agriculture	Р
Hallie Dozier	Agriculture	John Nyman (Alt)	Ingmar Schoegl	Engineering	Р
Mehdi Farasat	Engineering	P	Jennifer Scott	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Meredith Gaglio	Art and Design	P	Edward Shihadeh	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Charles Goodman	Music and Dramatic Arts	A	Samuel Snow	Engineering	Р
Lauren Griffin	Humanities and Social Sciences	P	Paul Soto	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Janene Grodesky	Human Sciences and Education	P	Phillip Sprunger	Science	Р
Achim Herrmann	Science	P	Casey Stannard	Agriculture	P
Ryan Hulteen	Human Sciences and Education	P	Min Su	Business	Р
Catherine Jacquet	Humanities and Social Sciences	P	Chao Sun	Engineering	P
Kayla Kazuschyk	Music & Dramatic Arts	P	Michelle Todd	Human Sciences and Education	A
Revati Kumar	Science	P	Mayank Tyagi	Engineering	P
Patty Lathan	Veterinary Medicine	P	Bulent Unel	Business	P
Tracy LeBlanc	Humanities and Social Sciences		Willem Van Boxtel	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Julia Ledet	Science	P	Shea Vela-Vick	Science	A
Yuwei Li	Humanities and Social Sciences	P	Ted Waldron	Business	Sonja Wiley (Alt)
Kenneth Lopata	Science	P	Cathy Williams	Agriculture	P
Donald Lund	Business	Aaron Gleiberman (Alt)	Jian Xu	Engineering	Р
Paul Manthei	Human Sciences and Education	P	Jun Zou	Art and Design	A

Guests

Name	Position	Attendance	Name	Position	Attendance
Wen-Chieh Fan	Director, Academic Technology	Р	Zane Suter- Benfiekl	N/A	Р
Jackie Bach	OAA	P	B Calais	N/A	P
Michelle Livermore	Social Work	P			

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate convened at 3:02 pm on January 29, 2025, at the Dalton Woods Auditorium at the LSU campus, the President being the Chair and Secretary being present. President Tirone announced alternates and guests. There were no public comments on any agenda items. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted as distributed.

In his report, President Tirone discussed (i) Faculty Senate leadership continue to have conversations with administration surrounding academic freedom and speech. Relevant LSU policies regarding academic freedom and speech were given (Policy Statement 15, Permanent Memoranda 79, and Article X, Section 2 in the Board of Supervisors Bylaws and the work of the Faculty Senate Adjudication Committee was highlighted; (ii) Faculty annual reports are due in Elements on February 14. The Office of Academic Affairs (OAA) webpage has more information and trainings available; (iii) A committee has been formed to consider LSU policy with regards to generative AI. Please email facultysenate@lsu.edu if you would like more information or to volunteer; (iv) Faculty Senate leadership met with Facility Services and the Office of Academic Affairs on how to better address incidents in our buildings. Facility Services is investigating ways in which to improve the communication that is distributed to faculty, staff, and students. More information to come; (v) June 30th is the deadline to switch from the Optional Retirement Plan (ORP) to the Teachers' Retirement System of Louisiana (TRSL); (vi) Planning for this year's Faculty Council meeting has begun. Date, time, and location will be shared once confirmed.

The first item of new business was Resolution 25-01, "Grammarly Licenses for Students without Generative AI", sponsored by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. Secretary Osborn presented the motivation and details of the resolution. Extensive discussion revealed the breadth of faculty opinions on the use of Grammarly and/or AI, in general, at a university. Specific concerns included academic integrity, equity issues, best uses for students funds, competing tools, and preparing students for a future with AI.

Tirone then welcomed Wen-Chieh Fan, Director of Academic Technology, and Parampreet Singh, Faculty Senate ad hoc IT Committee Chair, who gave a presentation on Moodle: Current Status and Future Roadmap. The presentation discussed results of the Spring 2024 Faculty Senate, ITS, OAA survey that prompted the consideration of Moodle as the LSU LMS; the majority of faculty are generally fine with Moodle, but also acknowledge its shortcomings. Our current version of Moodle is several generations old and lacks many of the features that the newest version of Moodle has that make it easy to use for faculty and students. Moodle is now in the process of being updated, which should be completed and piloted in Summer 26. There will be opportunities for faculty to participate in testing early versions and to take part in focus groups to ensure Moodle is customized to the needs of LSU faculty and students.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:26 pm following a motion by Jacquet. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Michelle Osborn, Secretary